Festive Gingerbread Spiced Scones

Firstly, apologies to all my followers out there and casual web passers by as I acknowledge that I have been swamped and haven’t been blogging as I should have. Yes, confession is good for the soul, so there it is, but my excuse is a good one. Really. Thing is that the response to my new book ‘The Shamrock and Peach’ has been overwhelming so I’ve been run off my little tootsies trying to keep up with the requests and the book signings, which all mounts to good things! So, there it is…and now that I’m back in the groove I will return to the blogisphere for more Irish goodness.

 So this is Christmas (to quote John Lennon) and we are once again in the season of ‘everything’. It seemed to start especially early this year, which is understandable given how hungry people are for business in this economy, but switching lights on 2 weeks before Thanksgiving? C’mon! But, look on the bright side, it’s December, the lights are twinkling, the neighbors are competing, the parking lots are a-filling and what are we to do? Well, fear not for I have a great little festive recipe for you to consider as you plan those Christmas parties and family get-togethers. So, here it is:

 ‘Festive Gingerbread Spiced Scones with Citrus Clotted Cream’.

 Yum!

 Ginger and cream are a scrumptious combination any time of the year, but I especially love to serve them for tea and at parties around the Christmas holiday season. The aromas of the spices as they bake in the oven are both heartwarming and festive, and are perfect to bake up and serve just before those relatives or guests arrive at your home. That gingerbread aroma will make the guests feel relaxed as they enter and make your home seem welcoming and filled with the warmth of Christmas. Seems like a winning combo, huh?

 Gingerbread is an Old World recipe that has somehow become synonymous with Christmas in America as every child builds gingerbread houses and bakes gingerbread men this time of year to please the ‘big man in red’, so let me invite you to get out the spices, warm up the oven, don that awkward snowman sweater and make delightful treats that will please random visitors and distant family members who come to your parties no end!

 May you have a continuing wonderful Christmas season, until next time,

 Judie the Irish Foodie

So, if you would like this recipe I’ve have a new and easy way to get it which should make it much more convienient for all you cooks out there…I have condensed the recipe into an easy-to-read PDF file as below:

Click below to open and download the PDF:

Festive Gingerbread scones

Isn’t that easy?

..and a merry Christmas to all!

J

One thought on “Festive Gingerbread Spiced Scones

  1. These are one of my favorites!!! And in trying to keep from packing on the pounds this holiday season, I put the remaining scones in the freezer. I reheat them: gently wrapped in foil in the toaster oven at 200 degrees for 15 minutes–they taste as good as straight from the oven!!! Now if I could just be a little less heavy handed with the clotted cream and lemon curd… :0) Great recipe, Judith!

Leave a Reply

