Christmas Cola-Baked Country Ham with an Irish Whiskey Rub

Less than a week to go until christmas and I’m sure many of you are planning your special menu for the day, or planning on what you may bring to your mother-in-laws this Christmas, huh? Well, fear not as I have a goodie recipe for you to treasure. A true Irish & Southern festive fusion that is incredibly wonderful and sure to earn you lots of points with even the most awkward of relatives. Straight from the north pole I present to you my special Christmas recipe:

Christmas Cola-Baked Country Ham with an Irish Whiskey Rub

I know you’re not going to believe this and think I’ve had a touch too much eggnog but here’s the thing…Atlanta’s favorite drink combined with some brown sugar and Irish whiskey produces the tastiest results you could imagine and may be the best baked ham I have ever eaten! The flavors are a favorable marriage, making a Southern style country baked ham with an Irish twist that will keep your guests coming back for more and begin endless stories of how you, not the Grinch, saved Christmas. The story alone is good entertainment for your guests!

A friend of mine gave me the tip about using cola as a means of basting the ham to bring out the flavor, and despite some misgivings I originally had, it works! The brown sugar and Irish whiskey rub came a bit more naturally to me, but again, it’s the marriage of the two methods that works wonders here, so give it a try!

and to make it easy I’m yet again offering you the recipe on a handy-dandy kitchen friendly downloadable PDF, completely free! How’s that for the season of giving! (old Scrooge would be proud I say!) So run out and buy what you need and get that party started!

Christmas Cola-Whiskey Ham

 

and may I wish you and yours a very Merry and joyful Christmas!

Judie the Irish Foodie

Leave a Reply

