Thankful for Family and Thanksgiving Pies

Chocoalte Pecan Pie

Southern Pecan Pie with an Irish twist

The Thanksgiving dessert table would not be complete without pie or two, and methinks some of the leading classics are undoubtedly Pecan Pie and Pumpkin Pie- yes, pies of legend indeed. This year, my son said the pecan was the best pie he has ever eaten and I think this Irish Whiskey Chocolate Pecan Pie recipe is a keeper.  I substituted honey for the corn syrup in order to get a floral sweetness and the Irishman Whiskey just brought out a balance to the intensity.

Pumpkin Pie

Pumpkin Pie with an Orange Twist

The classic pumpkin pie also made it to our family Thanksgiving table today. The only twist we add is some finely grated orange zest as I have discovered that this little citrus addition really adds character and complexity to the pie.

This Thanksgiving we are all thankful for family, health and being together.  I am also thankful for my business, doing what I love and for the lovely and dedicated followers of my blog…yup, that’s you dear reader. You are the best!

Thankful!

Judith the Irish foodie

Leave a Reply

