Guinness Sea Salt Caramel Cupcakes for Memorial Day weekend

Memorial Day Desserts

Guinness Sea Salt Caramel Chocolate Cupcakes

Tomorrow I fly to Ireland to lead my first of three summer Shamrock and Peach tours, and as I leave I’m thinking about Memorial day in the US when we honor those who sacrificed so much to buy our freedoms. As an Irish emigrant to this great country, I’m following in the steps of millions before me and I’ll never take those freedoms for granted…

So, in honor of my Irish American heritage I made some Guinness Chocolate Cupcakes for my boys to enjoy while I am gone and iced them with Sea Salt Caramel Icing – ooh yes!  The cupcake it self is super moist and delicious and the hoppy beer pairs so well with chocolate. We are big sea salt caramel lovers in our home so I knew it would be a home run to finish off the annual cookout with these sweet treats. So in honor of those veterans who have sacrificed so much for our freedom please allow me to introduce ya’ll to my Guinness Sea Salt Caramel Cupcakes.  I may be toasting a pint of Guinness at the actual Store House in Dublin but just like these cupcakes I am leaving behind a piece of my heart will always be in Atlanta, Georgia.

Guinness Sea Salt Caramel Cupcakes

(Makes 26 cupcakes or 2 baker’s dozen)

  • 1 cup Guinness
  • ½ cup unsalted Kerrygold butter
  • 2 cups super fine granulated sugar
  • ¾ cup cocoa powder
  • 2 large eggs (at room temperature)
  • 2/3 cups full fat yogurt
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups cake flour (or bleached all purpose flour sifted)
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • Sea Salt Caramel Cream Cheese Icing
  • 1/4 cup (2 oz) butter
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream (plus 2 Tbsp)
  • Pinch light flaky sea salt
  • 1 cup (8oz) cream cheese
  • 3 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • ½ cup heavy whipping cream

How to make them

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F/175 degrees C.
  2. Place cupcake liners in muffin pans.
  3. In a medium saucepan heat the Guinness and butter until the butter has melted. Remove from the whisk in the cocoa powder and sugar.   Slowly combine the remaining wet ingredients of buttermilk, eggs and vanilla.
  4. Measure the flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder and add to the batter until everything is fully incorporated.
  5. Place cupcakes in the oven and then turn temperature down to 325 degrees F.   Bake for 20-25 minutes until the center comes out clean when pierced with a skewer.   Place baked cupcakes on a wire rack to cool.
  6. To make the caramel combine butter, brown sugar and 2 Tbsp. of the heavy whipping cream, pinch of flaky sea salt and boil for 2 minutes. Set aside to cool slightly. Beat the cream cheese and then add the caramel, confectioners’ sugar and remaining 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream.
  7. Fill a piping bag with the resulting cream cheese mixture and swirl on top of each cooled cupcake.

Thank you Veterans for your sacrifices!

Judith the Irish foodie

 

One thought on “Guinness Sea Salt Caramel Cupcakes for Memorial Day weekend

  1. Have a great trip. Thank you for helping Byron and I haven’t forgotten your offer of prayer. I’ll be in touch later this summer after your travels are done. Travel safe and best to Anne, your family and Mark. Ruth

Leave a Reply

